Skip directly to content


News from the Architecture degree program.

53rd Alagasco Competition

Kyle Keirsey Final Drawing

Fourth year architecture celebrated the end of Fall 2014 with the 53rd annual Alagasco competition. This year's challenge was to design a new 150,000 square-foot assisted living facility in Birmingham.

View the gallery of winning entries.

Led by professors Christian Dagg, Matt Hall, Il Kim, and

Third Year Completes Concrete Comp

closeup of Morgan Tate's model for Concrete Comp

Last fall, students in ARCH 3010 and ARIA 3020, a team-taught studio led by Scott Finn and Danielle Willkens, participated in a Concrete Competition for the design of a monastery in Lanett, Alabama/West Point, Georgia.

APLA Works in Avondale

Students presenting at a charrette to Avondale

This fall students in both the fifth year Urban Studio architecture program and first year graduate students in the Masters of Community Planning program came together for an intense three-day charrette in the Avondale neighborhood in Birmingham, Alabama.

Will Ready Metropolis Competition Finalist

Will Ready Metropolis Competition subway drawing

Will Ready, a fourth year student in the Interior Architecture Program, was chosen as a finalist in the Metropolis Workplace of the Future 2.0 competition for his entry Transitworks. The competition entry was completed in the Fall Semester Elements of Interior Architecture course directed by

Students Win Design Build Competition

Heather Redrow and Joshua Hendon win Design Build competition

College of Architecture, Design, and Construction students won First Place in the Region II 2014 Associated Schools of Construction Design-Build competition in North Carolina, October 31, 2014. The collaborative team consisted of two Architecture students and four Building Science students


Rural Studio Wins Whitney M. Young Award

Newbern Town Hall and Fire Station

The Board of Directors of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) named Rural Studio the recipient of the 2015 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award.