Skip directly to content

Class of '82 Establishes Endowment

Last October, while watching students work feverishly to complete their pumpkin carving in the Dudley Courtyard, Paula Burns McEvoy, Robert Montgomery, and David Hinson began brainstorming on the question of how they and their fellow members of the architecture program’s graduating class of 1982 could best impact the architecture program. The discussion soon expanded to include fellow classmates Jane and Michael Frederick, Gwen Tinius, Dennis Findley, and Russ Hale, and the idea of establishing a scholarship endowment was born.

The Class of 1982 Endowment will honor the impact of the program on the lives of the donors, and the friendships developed during this formative period of their professional careers. The endowment will fund an annual scholarship targeted to encourage and support first-generation college students in the study of architecture at Auburn University.

At the Auburn AIA Convention reception this past May, Jane Frederick announced that the endowment had reached the $35,000 pledge threshold, and that the first Class of 1982 Scholarship would be awarded in the spring of 2016, celebrating the 34th anniversary of their graduation. Frederick challenged other alumni classes to follow suite, and Michael Malone and Steve Jernigan, 1981 graduates, announced that they’d already taken up the Class of 1982's challenge, and were working to establish a similar endowment funded by their classmates.

The chartering donors will work with the CADC Development staff to continue raising funds from members of the Class of 1982, their families, and friends. If you are interested in assisting with this campaign, or initiating a similar endowment, please contact Evan Thomas at thomage@auburn.edu334-844-1499.