Skip directly to content

CADC 2014 Spirit of Sustainability Award Winners

The Auburn University Office of Sustainability announced its 2014 Spirit of Sustainability Award winners on Tuesday, April 22. Once again the College of Architecture, Design and Construction was well represented among the award recipients. Michael Hein, PhD, William A. Hunt Professor in the McWhorter School of Building Science, was one of the faculty award winners; Judd Langham, PLA, ASLA, LEED AP, a 2007 graduate of the Master of Landscape Architecture program, was one of the alumni recipients; and Alexis Harrison, a senior in Environmental Design who is minoring in Sustainability, received a student award. They were selected as “representatives of the larger passion and commitment to sustainability that exists within the Auburn community.”

Professor Michael Hein was chosen for his commitment to sustainable construction practices through his research and use of pervious concrete applications to preserve the integrity of water and soil has benefitted the students he has instructed as well as the environment he is protecting.  Using a service-learning model to complete projects on campus and off, Hein has enriched the education of his students and colleagues as they work alongside industry professionals.  For more, go to:

The Spirit of Sustainability Alumni Award is given to Auburn alumni who are making outstanding contributions to the field of sustainability. Langham, who is the principal landscape architect of his firm, 2D Studio, LLC, is also an adjunct landscape architecture professor om the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture.  He was selected for his passion and knowledge for sustainable landscape design that he puts to use both in and outside the classroom. For more, go to:

Harrison was selected for her “dedication to exploring and living out the values of sustainability. Her optimism about the future we can create, continually inspires those around her to work together for a sustainable world.” She is an active member and past Secretary of the Environmental Design Student Organization, has served as the sustainability chair for The Challenge, a student-led initiative of Auburn’s Center for Leadership and Ethics, and has also volunteered with Habitat for Humanity. For more, go to: