Skip directly to content

Auburn Alumni and Faculty Recognized at 2012 Birmingham AIA Design Awards


The Birmingham Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) annual design competition jury was held on May 23rd in Seattle, Washington where projects submitted by local AIA members were judged on their merit by a distinguished jury. The Birmingham AIA Design Awards competition “provides an avenue for architects to be recognized by their peers for their effort and dedication to excellence in architectural design.  Award recognition is useful in raising awareness in the local community regarding the value and benefits of good design by local architects.”  (

Design Initiative, led by partner and APLA alum Marshall Anderson (’97), was the recipient of a top 2012 Birmingham AIA Honor Award for the design of Professor Cheryl Morgan’s (Director of the Urban Studio) Morgan Street Loft.  DI was tasked with re-imagining “an existing warehouse located in the downtown urban fabric of Birmingham to accommodate a private residence… Taking advantage of the structure of an existing warehouse, the goal was to create a simple, honest design expression while maintaining the integrity of the existing and clearly articulating the new work.” (submission entry, Although Professor Morgan provided the concept sketch, she stated,  “Design Initiative needs to get the principle recognition on the Honor Award.”  CADC Dean Vini Nathan describes the aesthetic of the Morgan loft as “a highly edited and stunning space.”

Other Auburn Alum and Faculty honored were:

Merit Award:

Edentonby Dungan and Nequette

Jeff Dungan ’93 President

Louis Nequette ’93 CEO

Honorable Mention:

Homewood Residenceby Krumdieck Architecture and Interior Design

Mountain Houseby Krumdieck Architecture and Interior Design

Alex Krumdieck, Principal

Honorable Mention:

El Barrio by Appleseed Workshop

Michael Gibson '06, Owner/Architect

Ben Strout ’06, Owner/Designer/Builder

Honorable Mention:

New Birmingham Zoo Entranceby Davis Architects

AU alum partners:  Neil Davis (’76), Greg Clever (’92), Don Cosper (’75),Courtney Pittman (’98

For more information about the 2012 Birmingham AIA Design Awards, the process, the jury, or the recognized projects, please visit:

Related Topics: