Skip directly to content

APLA Faculty Award Recognitions

Justin Miller and David Hinson with their award

Charlene LeBleu FASLA , Associate Professor and Chair of the Graduate Program in Landscape Architecture, was presented with the 2016 CELA President’s Award, and David Hill, ASLA, LEED AP, Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture, received the 2016 Excellence in Design Studio Teaching Award, Junior Level at the annual conference in Salt Lake City, March 23–27. CELA (Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture) is the premier international organization for educators in landscape architecture.

Recognized for her leadership as the CELA Vice-President of Research and Creative Scholarship and the Editor-In-Chief of Landscape Research Record, CELA’s full-paper conference proceedings, LeBleu said, “This was a surprise! I am honored, humbled, and delighted to receive this award! It reflects the advances in research and creative scholarship that I have helped put in place over the past two years including recognizing the medium of film as creative scholarship in landscape architecture.”

David Hill’s 2016 Excellence in Design Studio Teaching Award, Junior Level honors “a faculty member’s excellent ability to direct design studio projects that demonstrate outstanding quality and and/or emphasize the critical thinking and creative process.” His nomination for this competitive award included letters of recommendation from administrators and students.

“Having young talent like David Hill committed to teaching is vital to the discipline of landscape architecture education and to the future of the profession of landscape architecture,” writes David Hinson, professor and head of the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture. “The CELA Awards program is an important and impactful way for the Council to both reward and recognize teachers who do outstanding work in the classroom—and to identify best practice examples that inspire young talent to invest their passion and energy into teaching careers. David Hill meets both standards.”

In April, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture faculty and alumni were among those receiving Spirit of Sustainability Awards at the Auburn University Office of Sustainability fourth annual awards ceremony at the Pavilion at Ag Heritage Park. Dan Ballard, MLA ’11, who is Watershed Division Manager for the City of Auburn, and an adjunct professor in the Master of Landscape Architecture graduate program, was the alumnus recipient. DESIGNhabitat, created by APLA professors David Hinson and Justin Miller, was recognized in the group initiative category.

The DESIGNhabitat program in an ongoing collaboration between APLA and the Alabama Association of Habitat Affiliates (AAHA). From its inception in 2001, this partnership has been a vehicle for applying the energy and talents of APLA’s faculty and students to the challenge of designing and constructing high-quality, affordable housing. While embedding sustainable design best-practice into the homes built by Habitat for Humanity (HFH) affiliates has been a primary objective of the program, DESIGNhabitat has also provided more than sixty-five Auburn architecture students with a high-impact learning experience that includes deep immersion in the details of energy-conscious design. As a result of DESIGNhabitat, green building programs (Energy Start, LEED, Green Key and so on) have become normal practices in the home construction within the majority of HFH affiliates in Alabama.

CADC has been well-represented each year among the Spirit of Sustainability award winners. Ballard and DESIGNHabitat join 2015 recipients Carlie Bullock-Jones (Alumna winner) and Rural Studio (Group Initiative winner); 2014 recipients Michael Hein (Faculty-BSCI) and Judd Langham (Alumnus); and 2013 recipients Dan Bennett (Faculty), Charlene LeBleu (Faculty), and Jacquelyn Overbey Hart (Alumna).