Skip directly to content

APLA Celebrates New Scholarship Endowments

Architecture lettering on Dudley Building

In 2013, the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture welcomed four new scholarship opportunities established by APLA faculty, alumni, and friends. These scholarships help APLA attract and keep outstanding students.

“As the home of the South’s oldest architecture program, APLA students enjoy wonderful support from generations of friends and alumni. These generous new scholarship endowments strengthen that legacy, and ensure that our students will have the support they need to succeed at Auburn,” says David Hinson, Head of the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture.

Charlene LeBleu, associate professor of Landscape Architecture, and her husband, Dennis LeBleu, have established the LeBleu Graduate Award. This graduate award will alternate each year between a Landscape Architecture and a Community Planning graduate student. .

APLA Professor Emeritus  Bob Faust, and his wife, Sherry, have established theBob and Sherry Faust Endowed Scholarshipfor undergraduate architecture students. Bob served on the APLA faculty for forty-two years and is credited with developing Auburn’s highly regarded design-build ethos. The Fausts’ gift is matched with a Spirit of Auburn Scholarship Award to provide a  four-year scholarship to an incoming student.

The Cheryl E. Morgan Endowed Scholarship was established by Mrs. Beth Thorne Stukes and Mr. Brent Uptain for architecture students who are, or were, participants of the Urban Studio program. They established a scholarship in Cheryl Morgan’s name to “acknowledge the beneficial contributions she has made to Auburn University, and to honor the positive and lasting impact she has made in communities, both large and small, and especially her tireless work with communities devastated by the tornadoes of April 27, 2012.”

TheErnest and Cheryl Varney Endowed Scholarship, established byErnest Varney, AIA, NCARB, will be paired with  Spirit of Auburn Scholarship to provide a four-year scholarship for for an incoming undergraduate architecture student, beginning in Fall 2014. Varney is a 1976 Architecture graduate and President of Southern A&E in Austell Georgia.

If you are interested in establishing a scholarship or contributing to one the scholarships listed above, please contact Dara Hosey, CADC Development Manager at 334-844-1161 or 334-663-2505 or e-mail